5 Weeks In

Two Pregnancies and two different kinds of delivery methods. Having done both c-section and VBAC my doc asked me on Monday which I thought was better. I immediately said c-section. Well, only because I had a fourth degree tear and it seemed like my recovery took longer and pain level lasted way longer. I told her that maybe after I completely healed I’d change my mind. What helped was the padsicles I made via Pinterest – webpage reference . That greatly reduced my swelling.

This time around I’m breastfeeding, with my first I tried but I found it to difficult and gave up. This time I was more determine and had more knowledge so I’ve been successful. We’re exclusively breastfeeding. I wouldn’t say it easier in fact it’s way harder  (IMO). You don’t have the connivence of having your spouse help in the middle of the night to help feed the baby…unless you’ve have extra milk pumped. Which I do but I”m saving it for when I go back to work so I try not to use it when I don’t have to. Sometimes I feel like there’s never a break from breastfeeding only when she’s sleeping, when she’s awake I think she’s always hungry. It requires patience but we also have bond.

Caleb my first baby was formula fed and I don’t feel bad about it either. He’s a healthy 5 year old boy now and although we had to go through different formulas before finding one that he didn’t constantly spit-up with.  I think either way you go is fine, and whatever works…well works.

Haley is 5 weeks and growing, I can tell she’s already not as small as when she was born. Time flies so quickly I got to cherish every moment as she continues to grow. She smiles at me sometimes when she’s awake and it’s the best. Big brother Caleb, loves her to pieces and tells her often everyday.

Thank goodness Artis is off this summer to help me, without him here, I don’t know if I’d be this successful at breastfeeding, and I’d definitely be more sleep deprived. Luckily Haley is such a good baby she’s sleeping 5-6 hours straight at night, then up for an hour or 2 to feed and change and fall back to sleep, then down again for 2-3 more hours. Caleb started sleeping through the night at 3 months, I think she maybe the same. I hope as that’s when I go back to work. I would love to be able to get that much sleep.

Well….I’ll input another entry soon….see y’all later.

Posted on June 27, 2015, in Babies and Kids. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

